top of page

Lunchtime Friendships

Middle School lunchtime is CRAZY! There are 400 students jammed in one room eating, milling around, and it gets loud. I have a few students who have sensory needs that this just doesn't work for all the time. They choose to eat in my room together.

After eating my own lunch one day I entered my room and was surprised to find 5 peer mentors who where there eating with my kids. When I asked about why they were there, there explanation was amazing.

"Miss. Melissa we found out they were eating here alone, and no one should eat lunch alone, especially not our friends."

That shows exactly the acceptance level, emotional compassion , and the friendships that have formed within this program. It's not coming from staff, it's coming from the student body.

bottom of page