top of page

Next Year?


As my 8th graders move onto high school and we tearfully say goodbye...for they are forever part of our classroom family..it makes me sad, and happy. Happy to see all the amazing things they will do with their life, and sad not to see their smiling faces every day.

This peer mentor program has truly changed some of their lives. In their words:

"When I came to this class I didn't understand what peer mentoring was all about. Each student is amazing and beautiful. Before I didn't know it --but this world truly does need all kinds of minds."

" You have truly changed my life. I have a new outlook on disabilities because of you. You gave me the opportunity to build relationships I will cherish forever. The world needs more people like you. I hope to one day make a difference too. Thank you for all the joy you have given me."

This program is about providing the space and time for relationships to form in a safe, caring environment.

There are 9 peer mentors in the last 2 years who have told me they are planning on becoming teachers, and not just teachers, but special education teachers. Even if their plans change, they will still be people in our community who know, understand, respect, and adore people who are different then they are. Maybe they will be business owners who hire people with special needs one day, maybe they will be co workers, maybe they will be friends, or maybe they will teach others about our students while in the community. For me any of these things is a win.

As you think towards next year please consider starting up a peer mentor program, Don't wait, start small, ask for help.

My classroom will still be open for visitors next year, and I already have a list going. E-mail and I will put you on it, everyone is welcome.

bottom of page