top of page

Science Time

November 17th we were lucky enough to have a real scientist come in and do experiments with us. It was one of the most fun and educational visitors we have had so far this. I really work on having people from the community come into our room. It's good for the kids to get to know different people, and also good for the community members to get to know my kids.

We have been studying weather in science class and he showed us how rain forms. He also made a tornado and we could see it spinning while trapped inside a glass jar. The kids were enthralled. Their favorite was when he sprinkled pepper on the top of water in a bucket, put dish soap on one of my students fingers and then had him touch the water and all the pepper immediately pushed toward the edge of the container. There were oh's, and ah's all around.

It is amazing the amount of focus my students had and the length of time that focus lasted. I'm posting some pictures below. They surprise me each and every day, what a wonderful world we live in.

bottom of page