top of page

Drums for All

I love when my students can successfully be a part of a general education class. It takes support, accommodations, and a flexible teacher to work but it is so worth while, both for my students and the general education students within the class.

We have one of the most amazing music teachers I have ever worked with, Mrs. Brown. She runs a smooth, caring, happy class that is fully inclusive. I currently have four students within her Drumming and music Exploration class during second period. My kids are treated just like every other student. This last month they had a performance in the cafeteria for the school. It incorporated different drum beats from around the world. My students were able to participate and were successful and happy to be with their peers.

When the class moved to use a computer program and design their own beats, my kids did the same just on IPADS. They loved it! Accommodate and modify so that the class fits each individual students needs.

One of my students needs to take a sensory break every ten minutes. He is able to get up and go with a para to run and then comes back to integrate with the group. Sometimes he just needs to jump and dance to the music...what a perfect class for this.

Thinking outside the box, learning what each student needs to be successful, and working as a team is the mantra here at WMS.

I

bottom of page