top of page

Projects With a Purpose

Successful integration of my students into the school is a huge focus for myself and my staff.

This year four of my peer mentors created a project to support the connections my students make with others. These young women paired up to support my students being known and accepted more at Washington Middle School. They created posters for each kid, which talked about what they like, and things they are interested in. Many people just don't know what to talk about, or are uncomfortable starting the conversations. These posters helped to bridge those gaps.

They hung the posters all around school. It amazes me that 13 year old's came up with this project and knew it would be meaningful for my students and others.

As people around school noticed the posters they began to hunt for them. Staff began to search them out. As I did the same, I was deeply moved by how well these girls knew my students and how lovingly they were put together. I'm not going to lie my eyes got watery. What if we lived in a world where everyone thought about the needs of others as these girls have done. Now I'll never know how much of an impact these posters have but I would bet money it will be huge.

Grace, one of the girls from this group said...."We decided to do the project because it would incorporate the kids into the minds of the students and get them to know the kids in this class. We also wanted to promote the peer mentor program and show how life changing it is. "

Life changing...those are big words. I always wonder is it changing the lives of my students....or others.

bottom of page