top of page

Semester Switch


Can you believe it....we are 1/2 way through the year. I forget how much my kids need stability and consistency, and this time of year it smacks me right in the face.

My kids have been doing amazing socially, academically, behaviorally, with growth in all areas. I couldn't be more pleased. Things are calm and happy most days in the classroom. And then it comes...the dreaded semester switch. Over 1/2 my peer mentors turn over and I have to somehow teach, train, and try and maintain some of the sameness. It is super messy and my kids let me know very clearly they are not happy with it.

I have options. I could make the peer mentor class a required year long one. The downside to this is I wouldn't create as much of a support network for my kids. I feel that the more people who come into contact with and form connections and bonds with my students the better off they will be.

Ways to get through the muck:

1. Pre-plan as much as possible, know exactly who is working with who when. Try and touch base with each peer mentor so you can get a read on their personality as they each will fit differently with my students.

2. Cross train as many peer mentors as you can so that the ones you do have can support the training of the new ones.

3. Schedule a period within the first week to have a check in with the peer mentors so you can make sure they know exactly what your expectations are.

4. Meet with the paras to have a game plan so the first two days aren't as bad.

5. Schedule in extra breaks, movement, meditation, and a little extra down time. Your kids, peer mentors, and staff will need it.

Really just get rest, think positive, and stay calm. Remember these are kids who strive for consistency and you have just taken that from them. I find it takes 2 weeks to get back under control.

So semester switch stinks but it brings so many new relationships for our students that it's worth every minute of the muck.

bottom of page