top of page

Peer Mentor Program: A Substitutes Perspective


Dear WMS Administration,

I wanted to let you know what a wonderful experience I had in the DLC today. It was very clear to me that this is one of the best DLC's I have ever seen. I've been a substitute locally for the past three years, and in the Bellingham area during the early nineties. I've often worked in the Special Education departments and have always been impressed with the fabulous job that the para-educators do. This can be an incredibly difficult job.

Today I experienced a classroom like no other of its kind. Everything was up a notch on the professionalism scale. The students were well behaved and orderly, even when they were up against some of their own personal issues. The staff and student mentors were kind, strict when needed, and incredibly professional about their work, while maintaining a happy overall attitude throughout the day.

When I am in a room of this kind for the first time, I tread very lightly with the students allowing them the time they need to decide that I can be trusted. I interact as needed, but don't push so that they can get used to the new person in the room.Today, this allowed me time to observe the behaviors of the students as well as the staff and mentors. The training of the para-educators and the student mentors was a joy to observe. They mentors understand what they are there for and put the students before themselves. They are calm and have obviously been well trained for the specific needs of the students in the room. The para-educators worked well with the students and mentors alike. Everything ran like a well oiled machine.

A piece that can often create a difficult situation is the activity level of the students at this age. They need to run off energy frequently and many programs don't allow that to happen. That often leads to behavior problems because the students can't sit still. The incorporation of regular activity, from dancing in the class to walks to PE contributed to calm, attentive students in the classroom.

When the students were in class they were at their desks and participating in their individual or class lessons. I particularly liked the motion and meditation portion of the day. They danced to interactive videos, then moved into quiet meditation time Quiet music played and a gentle, slow moving video of fish was on the front screen. It was beautiful to participate in and observe.

The number of mentors and the conversations I had with them and the para-educators showed me how well this group of high needs students was integrated into the general student population. That is incredibly important and will take them far as they move on to future stages of their lives.

Thank you to Melissa, the para-educators, all the mentors and all the other staff and students at Washington Middle School for being active participants in the lives of these students. I look forward to my next visit to Washington and to the DLC. It is my great pleasure to work with all of you.

Sincerely,

David N.

bottom of page