top of page

Peer Mentor Video: Produced by WMS Middle School Students


(Segment starts at 1 min)

The peer mentor program was featured on our student news. Directed, produced, and initiated by students. We as teachers are always focused on getting students to direct their learning and share the impact it's having on their lives and others. These short clips show the love and compassion these middle school students have for my kids and this program.

As our government struggles with how to support the safety of teachers and students from an outside perspective, I am constantly thinking of how I can create more connections within my school, and my classroom. We need to make changes in our educational system to teach students emotional intelligence, compassion, and connect them to school. This news segment gives me hope that what we are doing at WMS is making a difference. Could a program like this help in other schools across the country. I truly believe instead of looking at how to make our schools a safer place, or arming our teachers, we need to look at how to make our students more compassionate.

bottom of page